2016 Student Symposium: Saturday, April 16, 2016

Student Symposium 2016 Schedule

Full Schedule with Abstracts (PDF)

Forward from Dean R. Joseph Dieker:

The Student Symposium serves as a venue for some of our most engaged and accomplished students to share their work with the broader campus community and others. It demonstrates the remarkable range of interests pursued in and beyond the classroom at Cornell. This year features 90 students, working with 40 faculty members across 21 different departments and programs. There will be 38 oral presentations, 1 performance, 32 printed poster presentations, and 3 electronic poster presentations.

The following pages present the schedule for the 2016 Student Symposium at Cornell College, along with the abstracts of the oral, performance, and poster presentations to be featured on this day.
In addition to recognizing student research, the organization of the Student Symposium also celebrates the liberal arts. Psychology is paired with International Relations. Philosophy presents with Environmental Studies. Biology is paired with Theatre. At Cornell College, students draw meaning and gain a richer sense of knowledge through the connections made across disciplines and subjects. Today is a day to celebrate this breadth of knowledge.

This year’s symposium was coordinated by the Center for Teaching & Learning and the faculty of the Student Symposium committee: John Gruber-Miller (Classics), Kirilka Stavreva (English), and Emily Walsh (Geology). The logistics and technical aspects of the symposium were handled by Brooke Bergantzel, Greg Cotton, Laura Farmer, Amy Gullen, Jessica Johanningmeier, Kristin Reimann, Gabriella Torres, Paul Waelchli, Ellen Wrede, Meghan Yamanishi, and Matt Zhorne. I offer my heartfelt thanks to them, and to the faculty members serving as session moderators, for their contributions to this project.

I invite you to participate in what promises to be a thought-provoking, exhilarating, and reflective day in our intellectual, creative, and community life.

R. Joseph Dieker, Dean of the College