Steps to Licensure
- Complete the licensure application to be sent to the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners (BOEE) given to you during seminar.
- Complete the waiver form and fingerprinting scanning information sheet prior to the fingerprinting session, which will be provided to you during seminar.
- Attend the fingerprinting session held during seminar.
- Successfully completing your Praxis II exam in content and pedagogy is required for elementary and secondary certification.
- It is your responsibility to take the Praxis II content test(s) for each endorsement area.
Fingerprinting session items required
- Money order or check to the BOEE for $150 ($85 for licensure and $65 for the background check)
- Students with a coaching licensure in hand only need to pay $85 for the licensure
- Licensure folder number
- Completed waiver form and fingerprint scanning information sheet
- Valid driver’s license or passport
Recommendation will be submitted to the Iowa Board of Educational Examiners after the Department of Education receives the transcript from the Registrar verifying graduation requirements have been met.
Every Iowa teacher must be licensed to teach. The license requirements are set by a Board of Educational Examiners whose members are appointed by the Governor of the State of Iowa.
The basic requirements for the issuance of an initial teacher license include a baccalaureate degree from a regionally accredited institution, the completion of an approved teacher education program from an accredited college or university, completion of an approved human relations program, and completion of requirements for teaching endorsement. The Initial License is valid for two years from the date of issuance. It may be renewed under prescribed conditions for one additional two-year term.
The Standard License requirements include the same requirements as the Initial License plus evidence of two years successful teaching experience based on local evaluation process. The Standard License is valid for five years and renewable under prescribed conditions.
This license is valid for five years and is renewable under prescribed conditions. In order to apply for a Substitute License, applicants must have successfully completed all requirements for an approved teacher education program and be eligible for the initial license, or hold or have held a valid, regular license in Iowa or some other state.
Iowa law states that an applicant for teacher licensure may be disqualified for any of the following reasons:
- The applicant has been convicted of child abuse or sexual abuse of a child.
- The applicant has been convicted of a felony.
- The applicant’s application is fraudulent.
- The applicant’s license or certification from another state is suspended or revoked.
Students graduating from approved teacher education programs at Cornell College meet the full requirements for teacher licensure only in the state of Iowa. In many cases, even if requirements for licensure have not been met, one can obtain a temporary license in another state. If students intend to teach in a state other than Iowa, they should obtain licensure requirement information in that state as early as possible. It is the student’s responsibility to provide the Department of Education with the appropriate forms for out-of-state licensure by the end of the academic year. If the forms are provided after that time, there is no guarantee they will be completed until after August 15 when the education Department reopens for the fall.