2019-2020 Important Dates

Opening and closing dates for 2019-2020

Please refer to the following dates when making travel arrangements to and from Cornell. Students are not permitted in their residence hall room before the time indicated, and must vacate their residence hall room by the time indicated. No exceptions are allowed. Students who find it necessary to arrive earlier or depart later are expected to make alternative off-campus arrangements.

Please note the information found on the corresponding links are for the current academic year, and are available for reference only.  Links pertaining to fall semester dates will be updated over winter break and links pertaining to spring semester dates will be updated in late June to reflect information for the 2020-2021 academic year.


Wednesday, August 21, 2019

8:30 a.m.

Residence halls open for new students

Friday, August 23, 2019

9:00 a.m.

Residence halls open for transfer students

Saturday, August 24, 2019

9:00 a.m.

Residence halls open for returning students

Thursday, September 5, 2019

4:00 p.m.

Last day to change meal plans for fall semester*

Thursday, November 14, 2019

11:00 a.m.

Fall break begins (residence halls remain open)

Thursday, December 19, 2019

11:00 a.m.

Residence halls close for winter break

Sunday, January 12, 2020

9:00 a.m.

Residence halls open for all students

Thursday, January 16, 2020

4:00 p.m.

Last day to change meal plans for spring semester*

Thursday, March 5, 2020

Spring break begins (residence halls remain open)

Thursday, May 7, 2020

11:00 a.m.

Residence halls close for non-graduating students

Friday, May 8, 2020

1:30 p.m.

Residence halls open for full summer housing students

Sunday, May 10, 2020

6:00 p.m.

Residence halls close for all graduating students

Sunday, May 17, 2020

12:00 p.m.

Residence halls open for eight week summer students

Saturday, July 10, 2020

5:00 p.m.

Residence halls close for ten week summer students

Friday, August 7, 2020

1:30 p.m.

Full summer students transition to fall housing assignments

*Note: these are meal plan dates and not directly related to residence hall opening and closing, but students should still note those dates and choose or change their meal plan accordingly.