

Initiation Ceremony The Phi Beta Kappa Society

The Delta of Iowa at Cornell College

Mount Vernon, Iowa

Founded September 12, 1922



"HILARITAS SAPIENTAE ET BONAE VITAE PROLES"

Officers of the Delta of Iowa

President

Devan Baty, Assistant Professor of French Vice President

Phil Venticinque, Assistant Professor of Classics

Secretary-Treasurer

David Yamanishi, Assistant Professor of Politics

Guide

Addison Ault, Professor of Chemistry

New Members in Course of the Delta of Iowa Chapter

Monica Marley Brown
Kathryn Elizabeth Carty
Elizabeth Maria Davis
Megan E. Dibbern
Corey Luke Dieser
Caitlyn Knecht Dye
George Francis Ellerbach
Elizabeth Ann Erickson
Sophia Catherine Gaynor
Joseph Lawrence Harrity
Elaine Joyce Hutchison

Allie Rae Jagielo
Amanda Kate Johnson
Taylor Lauren Koch
Chelsea Aileen Korpanty
Sean Patrick McKenna
Willi Mendelsohn
Aye Mon
K.E. Raghav
Zoe Constance Sigman
Xinrui Zeng

Music provided by Victoria Levasseur and Tara Ohrt, Poetry reading by Monica Brown

The Latin quotation near the top of the page appears above the fireplace in the Apollo Room of the Raleigh Tavern in Williamsburg, Virginia, where Phi Beta Kappa was founded on December 5, 1776. It may be translated as:

"Mirth is the offspring of wisdom and the good life."

Members of the audience are cordially invited to greet and congratulate the new members of Phi Beta Kappa at a reception in Harlan immediately following the ceremony.

