Opening and closing dates for 2015-2016

Please refer to the following dates when making travel arrangements to and from Cornell. Students must vacate their residence hall room at the time indicated. No exceptions are allowed. Students who find it necessary to arrive earlier or depart later are expected to make alternative off-campus arrangements.

Wednesday, August 26, 2015

8:30 a.m.

Residence halls open for new and transfer students

Saturday, August 29, 2015

9 a.m.

Residence halls open for returning students

Friday, September 11, 2015

4:30 p.m.

Last day to change meal plans for fall semester*

Saturday, December 19, 2015

11 a.m.

Residence halls close for winter break

Sunday, January 10, 2016

9 a.m.

Residence halls open

Friday, January 15, 2016

4:30 p.m.

Last day to change meal plans for spring semester*

Thursday, March 3, 2016

Spring break begins (residence halls remain open)

Thursday, May 5, 2016

11 a.m.

Residence halls close for non-graduating students

Sunday, May 8, 2016

6 p.m.

Residence halls close for all graduating students

*Note: these are meal plan dates and not directly related to residence hall opening and closing, but students should still note those dates and choose or change their meal plan accordingly.


Room selection dates for the 2016-2017 academic year

The following are the dates for the Room Selection process beginning in January 2016 for housing in the 2016-2017 school year. This information only applies to current students. New or transfer students looking to attend Cornell College in the fall should complete the housing preference form for new students (provided by their admission counselor).

Room Selection Information Sessions

  • Thursday, March 17, 2016; 3:00 p.m. - 3:30 p.m. in Shaw Conference Room, The Thomas Commons

  • Monday, March 21, 2016; 3:30 p.m. - 4:00 p.m. in Shaw Conference Room, The Thomas Commons

Living & Learning Communities

  • Information Session: Friday, February 12 at 5:00 p.m. - 6:00 p.m. in Shaw, Thomas Commons
  • Proposal Due: Tuesday, February 23rd by 11:59 p.m. emailed to Quinneka Lee (qlee@cornellcollege.edu)
  • Notification: Tuesday, March 1 at 9 a.m. via e-mail

Off-Campus Housing Lottery for Rising Seniors

  • Lottery: January 18 - January 20, 2016 from 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. in the Residence Life Office

  • Notification: January 22, 2015 via e-mail

Wilch Apartments Lottery

  • LOTTERY: Tuesday, March 15, 2016 from 8 a.m. - 1 p.m. in the Residence Life Office

  • NOTIFICATION: Tuesday, March 15, 2016 via e-mail

Russell Hall Suites, Smith Hall Suites and 10th Avenue Apartments Lottery

  • LOTTERY: Thursday, March 17, 2016 from 11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. in Shaw Lounge (Thomas Commons)

  • NOTIFICATION: Friday, March 18, 2016 via e-mail

Numbers Draw

  • Tuesday, March 22, 2016 from 8 a.m. - 9 a.m. on the OC (Thomas Commons)

  • Tuesday, March 22, 2016 from 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. on the OC (Thomas Commons)

Room Selection for Singles, Triples and Quads

  • Tuesday, March 29, 2016 starting at 7 p.m. in Pfeiffer Lounge

Room Selection for Doubles

  • Thursday, March 31, 2016 starting at 6:30 p.m. in Pfeiffer Lounge

Late Room Draw

  • Thursday, April 7, 2016 starting at approximately 8:30 p.m. in Pfeiffer Lounge