Opening and closing dates for 2017-2018

Please refer to the following dates when making travel arrangements to and from Cornell. Students must vacate their residence hall room at the time indicated. No exceptions are allowed. Students who find it necessary to arrive earlier or depart later are expected to make alternative off-campus arrangements.

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

8:30 a.m.

Residence halls open for new students

Friday, September 1, 2017

9:00 a.m.

Residence halls open for transfer students

Saturday, September 2, 2017

9:00 a.m.

Residence halls open for returning students

Thursday, September 14, 2017

4:00 p.m.

Last day to change meal plans for fall semester*

Thursday, November 23, 2017

11:00 a.m.

Thanksgiving break begins (residence halls remain open)

Thursday, December 21, 2017

11:00 a.m.

Residence halls close for winter break

Sunday, January 14, 2018

9:00 a.m.

Residence halls open for all students

Thursday, January 18, 2018

4:00 p.m.

Last day to change meal plans for spring semester*

Thursday, March 8, 2018

Spring break begins (residence halls remain open)

Thursday, May 10, 2018

11:00 a.m.

Residence halls close for non-graduating students

Friday, May 11, 2018

1:30 p.m.

Residence halls open for full summer students

Sunday, May 13, 2018

6:00 p.m.

Residence halls close for all graduating students

Sunday, May 20, 2018

12:00 p.m.

Residence halls open for ten week summer students

Saturday, July 28, 2018

5:00 p.m.

Residence halls close for ten week summer students

Friday, August 3, 2018

1:30 p.m.

Full summer students transition to fall housing assignments

*Note: these are meal plan dates and not directly related to residence hall opening and closing, but students should still note those dates and choose or change their meal plan accordingly.


 

Room selection dates for the 2018-2019 academic year

The following are the dates for the Room Selection process beginning in January 2018 for housing in the 2018-2019 academic year. This information only applies to current students. New or transfer students looking to attend Cornell College in the fall should complete the housing preference form for new students (provided by their admission counselor).

Room Selection Information Table

  • Wednesday, March 21, 2018; 11:00 a.m. - 1:00 p.m. Main Level, The Thomas Commons

Living & Learning Communities

  • Wednesday, December 6, 2017 @ 4:00 pm in Hedges. Thomas Commons.
     Tuesday, January 16, 2018 @ 4:00 pm in Hedges. Thomas Commons.
     Thursday, February 15, 2018 @ 4:00 pm in Hedges. Thomas Commons.

  • Proposal Due: Friday, February 23, 2018 by 4:30 pm emailed to Daniel Chou (dchou@cornellcollege.edu)
  • Notification: Monday, March 5, 2018 by 12:00 noon by email.

Off-Campus Housing Lottery for Rising Seniors

  • Lottery: January 22 - January 24, 2018 from 8 a.m. - 4:30 p.m. in the Residence Life Office

Wilch Apartments Lottery

  • LOTTERY: Tuesday, March 20, 2018 from 8 a.m. - 1 p.m. in the Residence Life Office

Russell Hall Suites and Smith Hall Suites Lottery

**10th Avenue Apartments will not be available for 2018-2019.** 

  • LOTTERY: Thursday, March 22, 2018 from 11:30 a.m. - 1 p.m. in Shaw Lounge (Thomas Commons)

  • PLACEMENT: Monday, March 26, 2018 (participants will be notified in advance via e-mail)

Numbers Draw

  • Tuesday, March 27 2018 from 8 a.m. - 9 a.m. on the OC (Thomas Commons)

  • Tuesday, March 27, 2018 from 11 a.m. - 1 p.m. on the OC (Thomas Commons)

Room Selection for Singles, Triples and Quads

  • Tuesday, April 3, 2018 starting at 7 p.m. in Hall Perrine (Thomas Commons)

Room Selection for Doubles

  • Thursday, April 5, 2018 starting at 6:30 p.m. in Hall Perrine (Thomas Commons)

Late Room Draw

  • Thursday, April 5, 2018 starting at approximately 8:30 p.m. in Hall Perrine (Thomas Commons)