Pi Sigma Alpha logo

Sigma Psi Chapter at Cornell College

Established May 18, 1992Chapter Advisor: Craig W. Allin

Pi Sigma Alpha National Office

Pi Sigma Alpha, the National Political Science Honor Society, is the only honor society for college and university students of government in the United States. At present, there are 621 Pi Sigma Alpha chapters on campuses across the country. Pi Sigma Alpha is a member of the Association of College Honor Societies.


Pi Sigma Alpha was founded in 1920 at the University of Texas for the purpose of bringing together students and faculty interested in the study of government and politics. Professor C. Perry Patterson was an early leader of the first chapter and served as national president of PSA from 1920 until 1932. The success of the honor society at the University of Texas prompted other institutions to apply for chapters, with the Universities of Oklahoma and Kansas establishing chapters by 1922. In March of that year the society held its first national convention at the University of Oklahoma. Growth in the honor society was gradual throughout the 1920s and 1930s and accelerated after the Second World War. Today there is at least one college or university with a PSA chapter in every state and the District of Columbia.


The Articles of Incorporation of Pi Sigma Alpha state as one of its purposes "to stimulate scholarship and intelligent interest in political science." The society functions at the national level, sponsoring programs and events of value to the profession and teaching of political science, and at the chapter level. Each chapter is encouraged to provide a framework for enriching the exposure of its members and the wider university community to the study of government and issues of public concern. The goals of PSA are consistent with the aims of the Association of College Honor Societies.

Undergraduate Journal

The Pi Sigma Alpha Undergraduate Journal of Politics is a national journal published by Purdue University (2005-2007) and Union College (2007-2009). The journal welcomes submissions from students of all majors and especially solicits papers from members of Pi Sigma Alpha. In general papers selected for publication are well written, with a well-developed thesis, a compelling argument, and original analysis. Typical papers are 15 to 35 pages long and have been written for an upper division course. Papers must be submitted as Microsoft Word documents and must include an abstract of 150 words. Citations and references must conform to the American Political Science Association Manual for Political Science. For more information, click here.

PSA logo

Charter Members: 1992

Craig W. Allin

Michael J. Hofmann

Gary L. Rosenberg

Laurie E. Borders

David W. Loebsack

Michael R. Schneckloth

Jeremy Braverman

Aaron B. Maduff

Robert W. Sutherland, Jr.

Jason Espy

Patricia McAuley

Neil Verbrugge

Larry B. Handlin, Jr.

Janet L. McGinness

Curtis Zaun


Brian D. Posler




Lisa Frankel

Bruce Hillman, Jr.

John Sullivan


Ann Lentner




Jonathon Bez

Laura Buchs

Allison Evans

Marlow Green

Zayda Hernandez

Elizabeth Jones

Kari Knowles

Christine Kotvan

Jean Morris

Richard O'Heir

Lorrie Pearson

Dawn Pisor

Colleen Pleasant

Karry Ann Putzy

Gretchen Richter



no additional members elected



Heather Baker

Katherine Kruger

David White, Jr.

Gail Lucas

Susan Spaulding

Joy Zeiler



Gina Cesaretti

M. Katie Sutton

Kelly Thornburg

Sherri Corbin


Sarah Wharton



Nicholas Adamson

Marcus Burch

Edward Stec

Misty Brown

Hilary Murrish

Karen Ullery


Lisa Smith




David M. Dunn

Katherine R. Martin

Nicholas Vigdahl

Rene Joseph Carpio Holmes


Scott C. Walton



Amy Audetat

Melissa K. Bradley

Ann E. Brown

Amanda McCallum

Megan Beth McWilliams

Brandi Monger

Kristin Mutter

Anthony Pirani

Jennifer Potter


Ryan Struve




Allison Jean Doherty

Soraya J.S. Ramhormoz

Ingrid E. Spiegel


Nichole M. Torres




Lisa Ann Griepenstroh

Rose Rezai

Carrie Beth Temm



Dallas Klever-Crowley

Blake Rasmussen

Maria Rogge



Carissa Bunning

Rebecca Canovan

Teri Carrigan

Elizabeth Ditlevson

Stephanie Froehlich

Amanda Glaser

Courtney Kissinger

Nicole Knight

Michelle Knowland

Jamie Lomheim


Celeste Rangel



Mark Gordon

Leland J. Levin

Colin McCormack

Aaron J. Reykdal

Jessica Lynne Rundlett

Dylan Schultz

Nicole Breanne Soboleski


Steven Wieland



Smriti Angara

Christina Borisova

Jenna Busch

Sara Byrnes

Douglas S. Dorando

Brian Fuller

Seth Henson

Christopher Knudsen

Lisa Lefebure


Brittany Roth




Vincent E. Anderson

Marina Busse

Johnathan Clogg

Chelsea Coyne

Veronica Czastkiewicz

Garrett Feddersen

Amber Fricke

Laura Heft

Cory Thomas King

Brian Kovac

Jessica Morton

Michelle J. Penn

Katherine A. Sullivan


Nicholas M. Wondra



Elizabeth Bennett

Henry Thomson Brand

Jeffrey Curran

Trevor Cipriano

Caitlin Marie Ewing

Katherine Frank

Jeanna Kadlec

Alexandra Kitson

Sarah McNutt

Mara Oda

Madeline Roche

Matthew Shimanovsky

Vitaly Shmel'kin

Leslie Tweeton

Olga Vovk


Zarnigar Zahra




Brittany Atchison

Jamie Bernthal

Yuri E. Mitchell

Nathan D. Mundell


Quinlan Purkey



Annie Armatage

Mackenzie Case

Lisa Tongxin Chen

George Ellerbach

Geoffrey A. Ketchum

Sean E. Lehman

C. Griffin Litwin

Harrison Scott-Bennett

Brooke E. Smith

Kirstin L. Wagner


Andrew J. Patzke


Elizabeth Davis

Kirkwood P. Donavin

Eva Jacqueline Fisk

Kalissa Ann Holdcraft

Albert Lin

Willi Mendelsohn


David A. Novak