Main Events 2014-15

Choral Concert
Cornell Chamber Singers,
Mount Vernon High School Choir,
Solon High School Choir
King Chapel
Monday, Oct. 20,  7 p.m. 

Steel Drum Ensembles Concert
King Chapel
Thursday, Oct. 30, 7:30 p.m.  

Wind Ensemble Concert
King Chapel
Friday, Nov. 7, 7:30 p.m. 

Orchestra Concert
King Chapel
Friday, Nov. 14, 7:30 p.m.

Ensemble Chaconne 
Music Mondays Concert
King Chapel
Monday, Nov. 17, 7:30 p.m.

Holiday Choral Concert
King Chapel
Saturday, Dec. 6, 7:30 p.m. 

Jazz Ensemble Concert
Tuesday, Dec. 9, 7:30 p.m. 

Orquesta Alto Maiz
Music Mondays Concert
King Chapel
Monday, Jan. 26, 7:30 p.m. 

Quink
Music Mondays Concert
King Chapel
Monday, Feb. 23, 7:30 p.m. 

Steel Drum Ensembles Concert
King Chapel
Friday, March 27, 7:30 p.m.

Wind Ensemble Concert
King Chapel
Thursday, April 17, 7:30 p.m.

Choral Concert
King Chapel
Sunday, April 19, 3 p.m.

Orchestra Concert 
King Chapel
Friday, April 24, 7:30 p.m. 

Jazz Ensemble Concert
Tuesday, April 28, 7:30 p.m.

Watt combines anthropology adventures with music outreach

The flexibility of OCAAT gave student Ian Watt the chance to found OCTAVE Living and Learning Community, which gives free music lessons to children in need, while still excelling academically. Read More

First-year seminar leads Lohman to career in musicology

Levasseur balances medical research with cello and Spanish

Octave uses music to rebuild flood-torn neighborhood

Department of Music

Program Overview

Mission

Cornell College’s Department of Music endeavors to deliver the best possible undergraduate education in music within the framework of a liberal arts college and education. The department is committed to sustaining a community of student musicians (those majoring in music as well as those for whom music is an important avocation) and professional teaching musicians, all of whom are dedicated to the intellectual examination and informed performance of music of varying styles and provenances. 

Curriculum

Cornell offers a variety of degree options in music. Students may specialize in performance or music education, pursue a more general B.A. degree in music, or create an individualized program in an area such as fine arts management or music therapy. Learn more

Performance ensembles

Our vibrant and challenging ensembles are open to both majors and non-majors. Ensembles meet on a semester schedule, and practices are easily scheduled after the One Course At A Time academic day ends at 3 p.m.

Our ensembles are: