Tuition Remission Fact Sheet

Cornell College participates in the ACM Tuition Exchange and the National Tuition Exchange programs. The following explains tuition remission qualifications for employees and their dependents. Listed below are procedures the applicant and Cornell follows to apply for tuition remission.

The Tuition Exchange Program is one of the many benefits at Cornell College. However, each academic year the program is reviewed and students may export to other institutions if space is available.

All applicants from Cornell wishing to apply to the National Tuition Exchange or Cornell Remission programs are required to complete the Tuition Remission Application.  All applicants from Cornell wishing to apply to ACM Tuition Exchange are required to complete the ACM Certification of Eligibility and return with the $25 application fee.  All applications are due by November 18, 2016.

Associated Colleges of the Midwest (ACM)

  1. Participating schools include: Beloit, Coe, Colorado College, Cornell, Grinnell, Knox, Lake Forest, Lawrence, Luther, Macalester, Monmouth, and Ripon.  For more information on theses colleges please visit the ACM website.
  2. Applicant completes a "Certificate of Eligibility Application". This is mailed to you upon return of your Tuition Remission Application.
  3. A $25.00 administrative fee is payable to the ACM office. This covers your application fee to all participating ACM colleges listed above. The applicant is issued application fee waiver cards to attach with each college admissions application. Applicants must apply for admission to each college by the specific colleges application deadline.
  4. Applicants are notified by each college if he/she is accepted for admission and if tuition remission will be granted. Notification dates will differ depending on each college.
  5. Applicants may be required to apply for financial assistance. Check with each college for their policy.
  6. Applicants should notify the Office of Financial Assistance when you accept a tuition remission offer. A "Confirmation of Participation Form" is completed and sent to the ACM office.
  7. Tuition remission at ACM schools is granted for four years. You DO NOT need to reapply each year if the applicant remains at the same college.

National Tuition Exchange

  1. Some participating schools in Iowa: American Institute of Business (AIB), Briar Cliff, Buena Vista, Central, Cornell, Drake, Grand View, Loras, Luther, Morningside, Mount St. Clair, Saint Ambrose, Simpson, Teikyo Marycrest, Teikyo Westmar, University of Dubuque, Upper Iowa, Wartburg and William Penn. A complete listing of all National Tuition Exchange schools across the country is available in the Office of Financial Assistance.
  2. Applicants need to apply for admission to each college by the college admission deadline.
  3. The Tuition Remission Coordinator completes an "Application for Tuition Exchange Scholarship Form" upon receipt of the tuition remission application form. This is sent to each college the applicant applies to.
  4. Applicants may be required to apply for financial assistance. Check with each college for their policy.
  5. There is a participation fee of approximately $40.00 annually.
  6. Tuition exchange awards are made annually. Renewal forms MUST be completed each academic year with the tuition exchange coordinator.
  7. Visit the National Tuition Exchange Web site at to view eligible institutions.

Faculty/Staff Tuition Exchange

  1. Applicants apply for admission and submit the $25.00 application fee through the Admission Office.
  2. Applicants must apply for financial assistance by March 1 for each year of eligibility.
  3. Once a student is admitted to Cornell, the Registrar's Office is notified so the students can register for class.
  4. Applicants may receive tuition remission for up to four years or 32 course credits. Students DO NOT need to reapply each academic year.

Please contact the Financial Assistance Office at ext. 4216 if you have any questions.