Faculty/Staff News

More faculty/staff news available on the Academic Affairs pages

Carol Ennns

Professor of Psychology Carol Enns was recognized as a Distinguished Leader for Women in Psychology at the August meeting of the American Psychological Association (APA) in recognition of “life-long illustrious and exceptional contributions.” Enns, whose primary interests are in feminist and multicultural pedagogy and feminist psychotherapy, has been a longstanding, active member of the APA, and was co-chair of the task force that drafted the APA’s Guidelines for Psychological Practice with Girls and Women. “I owe Cornell College a great deal for emphasizing the importance of this type of ‘border crossing’ activity and for valuing diverse forms of scholarship and research,” said Enns.

Carol Enns

Bob Black, professor of Biology, has been named Director of the Andrew W. Mellon Foundation Grant in support of the environmental studies program. As Director of the Mellon Foundation Grant, Bob will provide overall coordination of the grant and administrative support for a variety of faculty development activities supported by the grant.

Rhawn Denniston, professor of Geology, participated in meetings with Iowa members of Congress in Washington, D.C., as part of delegations organized by the Union of Concerned Scientists (UCS) to discuss the American Clean Energy and Security bill.

Steven Hemelt, assistant professor of politics, won the Association of Public Policy Analysis and Management (APPAM) Dissertation Award for his thesis, “Essays in Education Policy: Accountability, Achievement, and Access.”

Studio art faculty members Doug Hanson, Sandy Dyas, Tony Plaut, Susan Coleman, and Maria Schutt put their own work on display for an exhibition in the Peter Paul Luce Gallery Sept. 13 – Oct. 13.

Former Cornell President David Marker was named interim president of St. Gregory’s University in Shawnee, Okla.

Richard Thomas, Cornell College historian and professor of history emeritus, received the 2009 Preservationist Award from the Iowa Historic Preservation Alliance for “championing historic preservation.” The award recognizes Thomas’ more than 35 years as a leader in Iowa’s historic preservation.

Associate Professor of English Katy Stavreva, Professor of Music James Martin, and Assistant Professor of English Shannon Reed were all selected by the NEH to receive grants to travel and participate in their respective programs in Prato, Italy; at Stanford University; and the University of Notre Dame.